February 22, 2008

In the Beginning

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , , , , at 12:03 am by Kathleen

I learned about polyamory when I was about 18, and unlike others to whom I have spoken, Poly was not something that came naturally to me. Indeed, instead of looking for a swining good time, I was searching for my life partner, and by that point, had even found him. A new friend of mine, about 8 years older than I am, talked to my fiance and I about poly, and I honestly could not understand why in the world she would choose to live her life that way. She was married, but they were allowed to see other people. In fact, we had gone over to her house before, only to find her and another guest hidden away in a spare room making out.

Talk about terror! Not only did I feel like a party to her cheating (even though she wasn’t), I was also confused. This kind of lifestyle was an assault on my idea of the perfect relationship. I loved my fiance, now my husband, and he loved me, so what more could we possibly need? The truth is that things are rarely so black and white as we assume. Here I am just four years later, and I am still working through jealousy and other issues, however poly has become a part of my life, even if it is a hard part, and it looks like it is here to stay.

Leave a Reply

