March 12, 2008

Staying in the Closet

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , , , , at 6:34 am by Kathleen

I spent yesterday with my mom. It was a really nice day. We baked together, hung out, and were otherwise quite happy. There was one thing that made me sad, though. I talked to my mom briefly about poly, simply mentioning it and saying that I have a poly friend (true) and wondered what she thought of it. Basically, she is quite against it, thinking it pretty freakish and strange. I’ve already hurt my mom by coming out as pagan, and I don’t want to hurt her again… so I guess I stay in the closet for now, no matter how much I hate hiding myself from those that I love. Such is life…

Blessings,

Kathleen

4 Comments »

  1. T said,

    Kathleen,

    I know how it feels to want to come out of the closet. When hubby and I finally came out to my mother that we were swingers (after she kept saying she didnt care what we did, we were adults, free to live our lives, etc, etc), it was relief.
    However….since then, she makes snide remarks, asks way too many questions and get offended if I won’t give her a complete answer. She accuses me of being bitchy because i will not change my plans for her, and attempts to tell me what I can and can’t do and should and shouldn’t do. Not to mention being just down right rude. if she calls and asks what we’re doing, and i tell her “going out”, she’ll make some comment to the extent of “oh, going out to fuck around again, huh?”

    So, needless to say, she will not find out about us being poly nor about the relationship i have with Master.

    I guess my point is…. even though it may seem like a good idea and something you want, its not all its cracked up to be.

    (((hugs)))

  2. Kathleen said,

    I guess maybe this is the best place to be for right now, especially with the families we have. I wouldn’t want to have to deal with that kind of thing from people that I love. I get enough crap for being pagan. 🙂

    *Hugs* back. Thanks for the comment!

  3. stamperdad said,

    Kathleen people can be so judgmental. Better to keep it as your life and be happy. I admire your willingness to share and truly hope that you and Michael find happiness.

    Best
    Steve

  4. Kathleen said,

    We have happiness. And I thank you for your comment. Michael and I have a very wonderful life together, and we are trying to slowly expand that to see and do new things. It’s a little sad that I can’t share that with those around me, but life is good, and I am very happy.


Leave a Reply

