March 15, 2008

Pets and a Blog Chain

Posted in Uncategorized at 6:52 am by Kathleen

I’m writing in a blog chain, and the big conversation lately has been about pets. Many people talk about their pets, or about being slaves to their pets… but things are a little different for me (and here I go shocking the rest of the chain… sorry ladies and gentlemen!)

I identify myself as a pet. No, that doesn’t mean I bark at the mailman or go to the bathroom outside. What it does mean is that I get a ton of pleasure out of sitting at my husband’s feet while he is playing on the computer and letting him pet my hair. It means that I love being called a “good girl” and that I really love getting treats for good behavior, usually a jelly bean, as mentioned in a previous blog.

Does this make me less of a person? I still clean the house, cook, take care of the baby, and work from home (no supervision required 😉 ). But I do love being taken care of, much like a pet would be. I love to play games and get into mischief, and I really enjoy the place that I hold in life. In fact, I requested it.

It doesn’t really affect my poly life, however. My poly life is more about standing as equals and deciding things together, and I think that with something so complicated, that is exactly how it should be. Relationships are hard enough without trying to extend them with an imbalance of power in place. It might happen with some people, but not here. So am I a slave to my pets? Nah, I’m just one of them. 🙂

Check out the rest of the chain!

Secret Government EGGO Project
Fantastical Imagination
For the First Time
Virtual Wordsmith
Polyspace
My Life, You’re Welcome to It
Polenth’s Quill
Food History
Spontaneous Derivation
Spittin’ (out words) Like a Llama
Fresh Hell
SLAKE
Forbidden Snowflake
Virginia Lee’s Vagaries

11 Comments »

  1. Mada said,

    The chain has definitely taken a turn! Hell no, it doesn’t make you less of a person. If it’s something you enjoy, that’s fine. I think you have a balance in your life that many can only dream of.

  2. Donna said,

    I think all of us have at least some desire to be taken care of. I know I do!

  3. Polenth said,

    I prefer to be given the whole pot of jelly beans to eat at my leisure… but that’s just me.

  4. Oh, yep, I love to be pampered!

  5. MTNester said,

    We all have fantasies and it wonderful that you are able to fulfill one of yours.

  6. freshhell said,

    Interesting twist there. I prefer to be the owner, rather than the owned. But, that’s for many reasons. Sounds like you got a good thing going there.

  7. D.T. Kelly said,

    I don’t think there is anything wrong with this. Glad you found someone you can be comfortable with!

  8. Gillian said,

    it’s an interesting thought. I suspect I’m too independent.

  9. Most people would like to go home at the end of the day and have someone else pamper *them*. Me too *g* but I gots nobody, so I just read books and blog. Pets do live such happy lives.

  10. vinjii said,

    Glad you found someone. Me wants too. Sniff.

  11. Mary Lewis said,

    I wondered where you would take the chain, nice change in scenery. LOL
    As for being a pet, I’m like a cat, independent and aloof. It takes a lot for me to let someone take care of me.


Leave a Reply

