March 22, 2008

Poly is a Good Thing

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , , at 8:37 am by Kathleen

I am a little distrurbed with the search terms being used to find my blog.  People are typing in things like “my husband is dissatisfied” and “I was left for another woman” and my favorite so far “An affair is a good thing polyamory”.  Holy hell!  I hope that I have been extremely clear in my posts that poly and affairs are entirely different things.  I do feel bad that women are finding this blog after having been cheated on.  How sad!  I would love to be able to protect these women from the hurt that they are feeling or offer some wise words, but the only thoughts that I can muster are not helpful.  I really dislike cheaters.

I do, on the other hand, enjoy poly.  Not that I have taken much advantage of my ability, but it is there, and it is lovely to know how much my husband loves and trusts me.  Life is good, and I am happy.  I hope the rest of you are happy, too.

~Blessings

Kathleen

2 Comments »

  1. Mada said,

    Look at the other side of the coin, the person who searched “An affair is a good thing polyamory” may have learned that there is a distinct difference between poly and an affair.

    I was explaining to a friend last weekend how an ex of mine had commitment issues, namely that he was living with me and engaged to someone else. She commented that it sounds like he’s poly (one of her friends is) and I was able to explain that no, he’s not, he’s just a cheater. Thanks to reading your blog, I was able to sound like I knew what I was talking about as I told her that poly is a trust-based decision made by both partners, there shouldn’t be secrets, there isn’t lying, etc.

    Hopefully someone else will know the difference after reading.

  2. Kathleen said,

    Thank you, Mada, and it makes me happy to hear that you’ve been able to spread some of that knowledge around. I do sincerely hope that the people who find my site while looking for information on affairs learn how big a difference there is.


Leave a Reply

