April 1, 2008

The Late Call

Posted in Becky tagged , , , , , at 9:14 am by Kathleen

Michael has been really busy lately with several obligations that keep him busy after he gets home from work.  Three days a week, I only get to see him for a couple of hours, if that, before he has to leave; he doesn’t get back until late.  For that reason, I asked Becky to call on a particular day.  On that day, I needed to leave in the early evening.  Since Michael would be home, it was the perfect day for them to talk, especially considering that I was only going to get one uninterrupted evening with him.  Becky didn’t call.  Of course, I didn’t find that out until the next day, our one day home together, when she DID call.  How nice for her that she got her chat so that she could explain herself.

I was pretty irritated.  If I pissed off a friend’s girlfriend, I would be licking her boots every time we crossed paths to keep from doing it again.  I’m not sure what kind of effort Becky is putting into  respecting me, but I really don’t feel that suddenly getting “too busy” to call when she said she would call and then deciding to call some other day is very respectful.  This is especially true because I told her why  I wanted her to call on a particular day.

I’m not mad anymore, and I don’t hate her, but she makes it really easy not to like her much.

~Kathleen

1 Comment »

  1. Rori said,

    It kinda sounds like Becky doesn’t really understand how a healthy poly relationship works. She’s all about herself. I’m not in a poly relationship, so this is an outsider’s opinion…but when you are the girlfriend, the wife is ALWAYS more important, right? In other words, if you’re not OK with taking a backseat, then perhaps poly isn’t right for you, at least in the girlfriend role.

    I know I’m only getting one side of the story here, and I don’t think that Becky is going out of her way to disrespect you, but it sounds like she had a lot of emotional issues to work out before she should consider being a second woman in someone’s life.


Leave a Reply

