April 20, 2008

Anybody Want a Date?

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , , , , , at 9:35 am by Kathleen

So, this is something that I am kind of curious about…  Where the heck do people find people to date?  I mean, I connected with two guys last weekend by some insane miracle, but neither of them even bothered to email me back anyway…  so WHERE do you find guys (or girls… whichever) to enjoy?  And more importantly, how do you find people who are okay with the fact that you are married?

This has been puzzling me for a while now, so feel free to jump in anytime.

~Kathleen

12 Comments »

  1. dockazi said,

    mail me .. docdoc300@yahoo.com
    waiting..

  2. Kathleen said,

    That’s a bit cocky, doncha think? Anyway, you got your email… now what?

    For those that want to get ahold of me (for anything other than sex talk, because I am not interested) you can reach me at polyspace at writeme dot com. Questions, comments, and suggestions are all welcome. And if you’re nice enough, I might even let you buy me dinner 😛

  3. Auria Cortes said,

    Hmmm…the use of the word cocky in the comment section on a post entitled Girly Sex cracked me up.

  4. Auria Cortes said,

    Oh…silly me…wrong post. LOL Well, I had a good laugh anyway. 🙂

  5. Kathleen said,

    You’re all mixed up! 😉

    Of course, I’ve had that said about me…

  6. Auria Cortes said,

    “Where the heck do people find people to date?”

    Anywhere. Guys are always looking, though I always say no. 🙂

  7. Gaylen said,

    There are numerous groups (Yahoo, etc.) for poly. If you happen to live in or near Ohio I could hook you up. In fact, if you live in NE Ohio I would happily invite you on a date myself. I’m always looking for poly-minded friends. If you look at my MySpace profile you will see that I am often organizing events, etc. and looking to expand my network of open-minded friends, and you will notice that my wife and I are looking for live-in poly friends and/or lovers.

    One word of advice: Since you are a woman, once you start looking on the internet you will discover a zillion guys wanting to chat, trade pics, etc. Some will actually meet you. Very few will want to be anything more than occasional “fuck buddies” (assuming you even see them a second time). In other words, you will be drowning in male interest, but genuine poly relationships are difficult to establish. It seems to me that the internet has greatly increased our prospects for connecting, while at the same time turning everything into a very superficial “candy store” or “window shopping” sort of world.

  8. Kathleen said,

    Gaylen,

    Thanks, I already have a date offer in Ohio, and I don’t think you want to move myself, my husband, and our son into your home 😛

    I’ve tried a few online groups, and after the weeks cock shots or verbal equivalents, I rolled my eyes and closed my profiles down for good. I think I will stick to real world dating for a while… online dating seems to give people license to act like idiots. I have met a few poly people at the local dungeon (yes, I said dungeon), but then comes the problem of finding one close to my generation…

  9. I’ve found polyamory to be both a blessing and a curse when it comes to dating. I meet people in the usual places – bars, cafes, even at work, and am sure to bring up my poly early on – no one likes to feel like they’ve been messed around. More often than not I find that they are interested and really engage with polyamory as a concept, whether or not they decide it’s for them.

    I guess when you meet new people there are a number of criteria you assess before deciding whether you want to date them or not – polyamory is just another factor!

  10. Kathleen said,

    You are completely right. Thanks for the new way of looking at it!

  11. Jerry said,

    I just found your blog today and read the whole thing. Rather than leave comments on month-old posts, I’ll leave one big long comment here on a few topics.

    First, I want to say how refreshing it is to talk to someone who is fresh-faced as a couple about polyamory. You have adopted what limits and hopes you wish from it, and don’t automatically assume that other polys are wrong or headed for disaster because their relationship standings are perhaps more wild. It’s a very rare thing to meet someone like you.

    I’ve known I was a poly since my first girlfriend. And my first ‘other girlfriend’ ::grin:: I spent a good long time after what turned out to be a bad experience shutting myself off to those feelings. I didn’t know how to explain to someone that I wasn’t manipulating my girlfriends, or cheating, but that I truly was in love with each of them and wanted to be the one who made them happy. I’ve grown up A LOT in these last ten years, and have recognized for myself what makes ME happy. I was finally complete. And single. Five years ago I met my future wife, and it was all uphill from there. Having finally figured myself out, I now get to spend the rest of our lives figuring her out.

    She’s still coming to terms with alot of her own kink. Everything from her attraction to other women to her own particular sub tendencies. It seemed that shoving this new data on her would be kink overload, and for a time it was. She’s finally learning to accept her affectionate nature, as she has an emotionally romantic relationship with a guy online. It took some time for her to come to terms with it and talk about it, but we’re getting there.

    I passed your blog address to her to read, and she agrees that your posts are almost word-for-word what she could see herself saying in 4 or 5 years in her own blog. We’ll both continue to read and comment, and thank you for giving me the perspective I need to understand her feelings. There’s a lot more I could say, but I’m not going to over-spam your comments here. Definitely, absolutely, feel free to email me. You can also find me on AIM at BuffaloM20.

  12. Kathleen said,

    Welcome! 😀


Leave a Reply

