May 4, 2008

Does a One Night Stand make me a Swinger?

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , , at 6:47 pm by Kathleen

We are very happy and eager to attach labels to things.  I am poly, or I am a swinger, or I am bisexual, or I am poly fi or any number of other labels.  The truth is that labels are what we make of them, and “poly” and “swinger” are just another pair.

So can I have a one night stand and still call myself poly?  I can have a one night stand and call myself the pope if I really want to.  Not that anyone would believe me… I’m a lot younger than the pope.  Poly, in my opinon (this is becoming my traditional disclaimer… hehe), is about love and loving other people openly.  Physical love counts, I think.  I am also still open to the idea of love with other people… so if I choose to have a one night stand and am still open to actually loving others, then I am still poly… I’m just having a one night stand.  Single monogamous people can have two one night stands with two people a few days apart and still call themselves monogamous, after all.

Short answer… if you are open to loving others, then no amount of casual sex will “cancel out” your poly label… congrats!  You get to keep it.  😉

In case you were wondering… no, I have never had a one night stand.

Blessings,

Kathleen

3 Comments »

  1. For the record, I am neither happy nor eager to attach labels to things. I hate labels and often do not understand them.

  2. T said,

    i am me, thats the only label i like.

    being bi, poly and a swinger are parts of me,…they are not all i am.

    i am ME!

  3. Kathleen said,

    Great way to put it, T.


Leave a Reply

