April 11, 2009

Dreaming of a Foursome

Posted in Uncategorized at 11:56 am by Kathleen

I’m not actually actively dating, nor am I keen on the idea of rushing out and dragging someone into our household situation. Our lives are so chaotic that we are reconsidering our pets, and adding another person right now, especially in-home, would make it that much harder. Still, I have thought of the ultimate family, and it seems that it would be lovely to share our lives one day with another couple that felt the same way. Quads, when done right, can be very beneficial and very stable for all the members. Of course, any group is only as stable as the least stable person there.

I recently had what I thought was the perfect opportunity for dating when a friend who I have been attracted to for a long time became suddenly single. He is attracted to me, and we had some highly promising conversations. At the same time, a lovely woman that works at a cafe we enjoy had been flirting with us. I asked her out with my husband and I, and she said yes. Within a week, we took this woman out to dinner and found out that she has a boyfriend and is not so much flirty as she is REALLY friendly. They seem to be monogamous, and I don’t want to mess up her romance, so it was just a nice dinner with a new friend. A few days later my male friend told me that he had gotten back together with his ex. They still aren’t exactly compatible, but he’s going through hard times, and she is familiar and loving. Damn.

Talk about a big fizzle. In the middle of all this I had a dream about the two of them meeting, falling in love, getting married to each other, and joining our family to form a quad. Just a dream, and sadly it seems as if it will stay that way, but it was nice to imagine, and it makes me more aware of how open I am to the idea of a group marriage sometime in the future. In the meantime, they are both still friends, and they are both lovely people, so my life is enriched by both of them anyway.

Blessings,

Kathleen

1 Comment »

  1. Hi, interesting post. I have been thinking about this issue,so thanks for blogging. I’ll certainly be coming back to your posts. Keep up the good work


Leave a Reply

