June 27, 2009

Poly? Never Heard of it!

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , at 3:47 pm by Kathleen

I was in line the other day when I struck up a conversation with the woman next to me. We were talking about books and our jobs, and I mentioned that I have reviewed a couple of books for this blog. She immediately started asking what the blog was about, so I told her. “What’s that?” she asked. Is Polyamory the name of an author? Is it a fiction or non-fiction topic.

The woman in front of me in line was trying really hard to cover up her giggling from the moment that the conversation started. As it turns out, she was keeping an eye out for her husband’s girlfriend, who was on the way to meet them, when she overheard us. She was absolutely no help, but I was glad to amuse her anyway. I admit that I stuttered a bit and had a hard time explaining myself to this woman. I have met with hostility and understanding, requsts for clarification and misconceptions, but never, ever have I met with such a complete and total lack of knowledge real or imagined about poly.

That’s not to say that it was anything wrong. I guess my point is that I surely need to brush up on my public (or semi-public) speaking when it comes to poly. I normally don’t talk much about it in person with people who are totally unfamiliar with the concept (except with people that I am interested in, in which case the tone of the conversation is significantly different).

There was also an amazingly hot guy there who was making eyes at me, but he got way ahead of me in line and left as soon as his turn was over, so I was a tad bummed that I missed a perfectly good chance to flirt. There was ALSO a couple that I know there, and I was more than happy to bolt when I saw them, because the male part of that couple has been hunting me for months. Icky!

Blessings!

~Kathleen

Leave a Reply

